Whamcloud - gitweb
b=21656 Quiet dirty_max CERROR
authorDmitry Zogin <dmitry.zogin@sun.com>
Fri, 8 Jan 2010 16:52:31 +0000 (11:52 -0500)
committerRobert Read <rread@sun.com>
Fri, 8 Jan 2010 23:45:18 +0000 (15:45 -0800)
The atomic_read() allowing the atomic_inc() are not covered
 by a lock. Thus they may safely race and trip this CERROR()
 unless we add in a small fudge factor (+1).

 i=adilger
 i=dmitry.zogin

lustre/osc/osc_request.c

index dea1edd..cd7fac6 100644 (file)
@@ -769,7 +769,10 @@ static void osc_announce_cached(struct client_obd *cli, struct obdo *oa,
                        cli->cl_dirty, cli->cl_dirty_transit, cli->cl_dirty_max);
                 oa->o_undirty = 0;
         } else if (atomic_read(&obd_dirty_pages) -
                        cli->cl_dirty, cli->cl_dirty_transit, cli->cl_dirty_max);
                 oa->o_undirty = 0;
         } else if (atomic_read(&obd_dirty_pages) -
-                   atomic_read(&obd_dirty_transit_pages) > obd_max_dirty_pages){
+                   atomic_read(&obd_dirty_transit_pages) > obd_max_dirty_pages + 1){
+                /* The atomic_read() allowing the atomic_inc() are not covered
+                 * by a lock thus they may safely race and trip this CERROR()
+                 * unless we add in a small fudge factor (+1). */
                 CERROR("dirty %d - %d > system dirty_max %d\n",
                        atomic_read(&obd_dirty_pages),
                        atomic_read(&obd_dirty_transit_pages),
                 CERROR("dirty %d - %d > system dirty_max %d\n",
                        atomic_read(&obd_dirty_pages),
                        atomic_read(&obd_dirty_transit_pages),